I would like to start this by saying that I have friends from different places around the world, so I’m fairly used to deciphering accents. We’ve had friends from France, India, Germany, South Africa, Gambia, Trinidad, Japan, and I’m sure that there are others I can’t think of right now.

Not to mention my entire family is off the boat from Italy, and therefore can’t pronounce any word without adding a vowel to the end of it (another story for another time, but my 99yr old grandmother totally made up another name for my husband b/c his wasn’t guido enough. Mortifying? Yes)

We also spent 4 months backpacking through Europe traveling to 12+ European countries, and we were able to communicate fairly well in almost all of them.

THE POINT IS…I don’t usually make a total ass of myself when speaking to those who did not grow up with English as their native tongue. I’m sure you can see where this is going.

Last week we decided to check out a local Hindu Temple. This place was absolutely gorgeous – so we got our cameras out and started walking around taking some pictures. Josh starts chatting it up with one of the guards and finds out that we can go inside and look around. As you can probably guess, this guard had a VERY strong Indian accent.


Guard: Yes you can certainly go inside. The entrance is right there.

Me: Oh, well, I’m just not dressed to go in I don’t think (I’m wearing jeans and a t-shirt and TRYING not to be disrespectful)

Guard: No no, you are dressed fine. Go in! It’s beautiful.

Josh: Can we bring our cameras in?

Guard: You can bring them in, but cannot take pictures inside. You just cannot wear SWORDS inside

Me: Haha! Well we don’t have any SWORDS!! Haha. Ha.

Guard: Looks at me like I’m a total asshole Ok. The entrance is there.

Me: Thanks!! Have a great day!

So we walk through the door, and there’s a sign that says “No shoes” and a bunch of cubbies to put your SHOES in. Yeah. Not SWORDS. SHOES.

Awesome.

